mmofacts.com

How do you guys advertise your game?

posted 16 years, 8 months ago by docjay

Do you use GoogleAds?
What do you think about Games-Advertising-Online?
Are referral-links useful?

posted 16 years, 8 months ago by Drezil

i dont use any kind of advert at this time - may game is not finished, though.

but i plan a "campain" mostly on mouth-propaganda.

I dont have such a big budget (hey! im a poor poor student! ;) ), so i will mostly use the "cheap" ad-solutions.

- Promote the game in Forums and Newspages (GN etc.)

- Introduce some kind of "reflink" (but not this "make as many people click there"). I thougt about some kind of reward if the referred player is active for a specific amount of time (i.e. 2-3 weeks), so people get rewarded for adverting my game.

But this all is "just planned". First i got to finish my game. ;) 

posted 16 years, 8 months ago by docjay
You should check MEGADUEL for the ref-link thing.
Cristian3d did an awesome job.
posted 16 years, 8 months ago by plasticshore

We are not advertising Weewar - 0 budget for marketing. We have geared our whole communication to a certain crowd, though.  And that crowd is not necessarily gamers or gaming. We also support our own community in spreading the word and we are closely following anything that is published about Weewar and often follow up, seeking ways to cooperate with others.

We feel that in order to make a difference with advertising on the internet you need to have a huge budget. Anything less and you might as well not do it at all.  You time and effort can be much better spent.

posted 16 years, 4 months ago by genmac

I list on GN, TWG and the other gaming "top 100 type sites", just because it's so easy and it does produce some traffic even if you aren't #1 (I think I'm number...200-something?)